[Guide] Moose's guide to running a shop

Discussion in 'Survival Guides and Tutorials' started by majestic_moose, Nov 15, 2013.

1. majestic_moose

majestic_moose Well-Known Member VIP

I've been running a player shop for around 20 months on Shade Crest, and thought it was time to write up a thread with some of the things I've learnt.

Promotion
    One of the most important things for running a shop is promotion. You can have the best shop, best prices, and always be stocked, but this won't do you much good if no one knows about it. The three main methods I use for promotion are the forums, in game signs, and in game chat.

Shop thread
    Have an informative thread, and encourage discussion. If you add potions, let people know, and then ask something like what people would like to see added next/changed. This way your shop thread will be higher in the recent threads list, as well as the shop/trade forum, so most active forum members will know about your shop. Also make sure to keep your title simple and update it when you update your thread (eg. /warp shop, now selling potions!), so players who don't read the thread will still know what's changed.

Signs
    Something which also helps a lot is advertising with signs. You can rent (buy) a warp sign at /warp spawn on the right wall for 1000r, and lock a sign outside /warp mining for 400-1000r. That's relatively cheap, and you'll get a lot more new players knowing about your shop.

Chat
    The last and most obvious way is using chat. Keep an eye out for players wanting a shop, and then suggest your shop. Once enough people know about your shop, people will do this for you. Also, whenever you're involved in a trade, ask them to meet you at your shop instead of spawn.

Pricing
    Pricing is also obviously important. Too high and people won't want to use your shop, too low and you won't make any money. Here are the factors I take into account when pricing something: