Tips for quicker promotions

Discussion in 'Creative Guides and Tutorials' started by sioutdoors, Oct 25, 2012.

1. sioutdoors

sioutdoors Well-Known Member VIP Creative Architect

We'll I see the same mistakes over and over so I thought I would share some of them here to help out. Not that I'm a good builder by any means. But this is just some stuff/tips the the admins see every day and generally do not like.
    #1: obviously come visit the forums and the wiki page for all the rank permissions and commands. If you need one of the admins to do something don't try and get their attention in chat (it can get annoying) there is a command just for this reason. Its /modreq and a message. The message should be clear on what you need us to do. Example of this is /modreq hello my name is IGN and i have completed my plot app and would like to have it inspected. Thank you.....not I'm done come see.

#2: glowstone.......... for the most part shouldn't be used as a block type to build with. But mainly used for lightning and accents

#3: trees....... while they do add appeal to the build, too many can take away from it.

#4: details..too plain.... you will hear this alot from the admins. What this means is architectural details. Like columns,supports,windows etc. Not add more colors so it look likes a rainbow when its done. Try and stick to 3-5 main colors with a couple accent colors.
    #5: shape/form....... before you start a build take some time to do a little research on what style your building in. Most likely a box with a roof will not be good enough.

#6: interior design/landscaping....... as a rule the inside needs to be complete as well. Also take the time to make the unused portion of your build area appealing. Example of that is things like planters/hedges/exterior lighting and paths/walkways

#7: minecart roller coasters......almost never will a coaster get a promotion.

#8: redstone.......if your in plotworld almost never will an all redstone build get promoted.